For every action force there is an equal and opposite reaction force  -Sir Isaac Newton

Imsouane, Morocco

We’ve all heard this law of motion before.  It’s something we’re taught in physics class; force comes in pairs.  But at times, I find emotions and experiences tend to come that way too.  Recently my life has been a mixture of new locations/old locations, new friends/old friends, excitement/boredom, fear/faith, hope/crushing disappointment, unexplainable energy/laziness, trust/doubt, love/loneliness and longing for home/never wanting to go back.

It’s been about a month since my last post and since then I’ve sailed the Dalmatian coast with Sail Croatia and cruised down the Moroccan coastline in an old-school Volkswagen van.  The experiences have been plentiful, ranging from jumping in the sparkling Adriatic sea every morning to perfecting my squat toilet technique in extremely questionable hygienic situations.  The roller coaster of traveling emotions have been in full swing, finally experiencing moments of missing home.

I’ve decided to settle in Tamraght, Morocco until Eid al-Adha, then I plan to head back to Europe.  I originally hoped to make it to Oktoberfest; but seeing as how I don’t even drink beer, it wasn’t a necessity.  I fancy hanging around Morocco longer and being with people I know here.  I look forward to spending lots of time at the beach, shopping the souk for gifts to send back home, properly unpacking my belongings and NOT lugging around my 19kg backpack every few days.

A short two week break from hopping around, then off for more European adventuring!

Leave a comment